Tags

, ,

This post is an addition to my post titled “Problems of a Modernized Seminary.”

By Nina Rhea

2004 Samoan seminarians dance at Mt. Angel Seminary benefit.  Permission granted by Catholic Sentinel.

Before you label me a racist narrow-minded prude, let me tell you a few things about my personal involvement with folk dance.

  1. Both my grandparents were born in Hawaii of Portuguese descent.
  2. My grandmother taught me the hula in California, my birthplace.
  3. In my youth I was a Balkan folk dance performer.
  4. My uncle and his four sons performed conga music.
  5. I played percussion in a Brazilian samba drum corps.  I left because of the barely-clothed vulgar dancing and the voodoo influence of some of the drumming known as Condomble.
  6. My husband is a former jazz drummer.

So, as much as I loved the exhilaration of samba, I knew I was not pleasing God.

Seminaries are no place for this dance.  In this age of moral anarchy, it’s time to return to modesty!

Do Samoan girls perform native dance in their convents?  Probably not!

Catholics who tolerate this seem embarrassed by the traditions of our Church!  They want to remake Holy Mother Church in the image of pagans.  Next up:  human sacrifice.  Oh, right, I forgot.  There’s “Catholics for Choice” already.

Related

The Church Revolution in Pictures.  Tradition in Action.

